Rylea Reneé

Rylea Reneé DeWitt was born on May 30, 2009 at 5:39 PM weighing in at a whopping 6 pounds 8 ounces and measuring 19.5 inches in length.  I was in labor for about 10 and a half hours starting at 7 am when we checked into the hospital to be induced.  The pitocin kicked my butt and I made it to about 4 cm dilated before the pain was unbearable (i was in tears) and I had to get an epidural.  My plans before labor were to let everything happen naturally and with as little medical intervention as possible, but since we were induced, I knew those plans were going to have to be altered, and while I was disappointed, the end result was amazing, and I still did get to feel the delivery.  The epidural started wearing off around 4:45 or 5:00 and Devin went out to tell my nurse that I was feeling contractions again.  Once the nurse came back in and checked my cervix it turned out I was fully dilated and we were going to start pushing.  I ended up pushing for only about 5-10 minutes and there she was, our little miracle was delivered with no problems at all.  PRAISE GOD!  I can’t put into words all the feelings that rushed through me as I stared at my baby girl and then my husband and then back to my baby girl.  She is perfectly designed in God’s own image, and He had blessed our socks off.  We were in the hospital Saturday night and Sunday night and then we were discharged on Monday around noon.  Riding home in the car with my sweet one in her car seat was something I had been looking forward to for 10 months.

Rylea is now 12 days old, and she’s changing just about everyday.  She eats all the time (at least that’s what it seems like), and she’s a lot more alert in these past few days than she has been.  There’s that time right after I nurse and burp her where she’s very content and she will just sit in my arms or lay on the floor and stare at me.  This, right now, is my favorite time with her when I can talk to her and listen to her noises and study her face.  I get to pray with her, and for her while she’s awake, just thanking God for this amazing blessing.  I’m so privileged to be her mommy, and I’m trying to just drink in and savor all these moments with her because I know before long she’s going to be all grown up and I’m going to wonder where all that time went.  So for now, I’m going to enjoy these poopy diapers and getting up all hours of the night, and I’m going to thank God for each one of these moments.

Our little Sweet Pea

Our little Sweet Pea

Leave a Reply

