One Month Checkup

Today at 10 am was Rylea’s one month checkup at the doctor’s office. This is the first day I needed to leave the house at a specific time with no other help in the house! Pure craziness…

Rylea, true to form, was up all night and I got about 2 hours of sleep last night. So, at 5am I fed her and she fell back asleep a little after 6 and so did I. I woke up around 8:30 with only one short hour to get everything ready and get out the door to make it to the doctor’s office on time. So, I woke up, put a half asleep Rylea in her pack and play praying that she would stay asleep long enough for me to at least get a shower. But, of course, the dogs needed to go out so I ran downstairs to let them out real quick and I grabbed an outfit for me and one for Rylea real fast from the laundry room. Then I ran back up the stairs, checked on the baby (still sleeping PTL!) So I jumped in the shower really fast then got dressed and put my make up on. Then I had to wake Ry up, change her diaper and her clothes, fed her for 30 min, took Belle out (again…ugh), packed the diaper bag, dried my hair (no time for the straightener), put Ry in her carseat, almost forgot my cell phone, put Belle in her kennel, grabbed the diaper bag and my wallet, then put everything and everyone in the car and we made it to the office around 10:10. Note: we would have actually been early if the yayhoos on Immokalee road hadn’t decided to make it a one lane road instead of a three lane road today. Whew!

So, we’re there. Then I find out that there’s a problem with the insurance. I called Devin at work, explained the issue and he tried to sort it all out while I was in the office. Turns out we had to pay for the visit in full today ($258!!) and then when the insurance stuff is figured out, we get that money back. What a headache! And all of this nonsense occured before 10:30 this morning. Needless to say, I am a very sleep deprived and very exhausted mommy at this point, but thanks to Jesus we made it through!

On to her stats: 8 pounds 5 ounces (up from 6 pounds 3 ounces) 21.5 inches long (up from 19.5). Her weight increase is awesome to hear since I’ve only been breastfeeding her and I’ve had (irrational) fears that I wasn’t giving her enough, but not the case! Everything was normal and great and the doc was pleased. Rylea even managed to give the doc a big smile as soon as she came in the room. Rylea did get a shot and that sucked, but she really didn’t do that bad and she hasn’t cried since.

We’re home now and the baby is sleeping. Since this morning’s festivities didn’t include breakfast for mommy, I’m going to try and eat something before she wakes up! Hope you all have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

