Sleep

When people first meet Rylea or when they see her for the first time, one of the first questions I get asked is how am I sleeping at night. Most people are surprised when I say I’m not having any issues, and Rylea has been sleeping through the night since 9 weeks. I thought I’d share what has worked for Devin and I in this area.

Ever since Rylea was about 6 weeks old we instated a nighttime routine with her. No matter what our day together looked like or how many times she slept or ate, we have always done the same thing with her every night. We decided that nighttime would be daddy time for Rylea and Devin does it all with her at night. He doesn’t see her all day like I do, and he treasures that time he gets with her at night.

I breastfeed her for the last time somewhere around 8pm and then our routine starts anytime between 9 and 10. Rylea just starts to get fussy somewhere in there and we know we need to get going. We bring her upstairs and Devin gets her undressed and ready for a bath. (I always run the bath and get it all ready so that he gets more time with her). He plays with her and gets her in a really great and funny mood and then sits her in the bath for about 10 minutes. While Devin’s getting splashed and having a great time, I work on getting her diaper, jammies, lotion, and bib all layed out and I warm up a bottle of formula. (We keep the formula and bottle warmer upstairs so it’s all right there at night). *The reasons she gets formula before bed are because it seems to stick with her longer so she doesn’t wake up at night to eat, and it also gives Devin a chance to feed her because I’m breastfeeding her all day and he just loves that time with her. It also gives me time time to pump too.* Then Devin gets her out of the bath, dresses her and gives her a bottle. He burps her, rocks her to sleep and then puts her in her crib (she’s been sleeping in her crib for a little over a week now). By the time she goes down, it’s usually 10:30 and she’ll sleep until 6am (sometimes 7). I get her up to change her and feed her and then she’ll go back to sleep until 9am.

This whole routine has transitioned into creating other routines for her during the day, and my life with her is so much easier now. She’s predictable and my day is much more productive. I know when I can sit down to work on my business stuff or when I can eat lunch. I know when she’s going to need me and she’s much happier with me and I’m much happier with more sleep!

When we started this whole thing, it took Ry about 2 weeks to get it, and she has her days and nights switched, turning me into a zombie mommy. But, with some persistence and perseverence, we all figured it out, and that is just what has worked for us!

Leave a Reply

