Back in the (auditing) Saddle…

When I first started out at the firm here in Naples I met a lot of really great people and fellow believers that have changed my life for the better.  I learned a lot about tax returns and auditing (yes, i love it, and no it’s not boring to me), but more importantly I learned some very priceless information about my Savior from some priceless people.  Two of these people are Ashley and Jen.

Jen and I already had something in common from the beginning because her husband grew up in Angola, IN which was the same town that Devin and I went to college in and it may or may not be the same town I was born in. 😉  Jen and her husband Jarrad are two of the most generous people I know.  They’re always the first ones to call us over for dinner on a Sunday night to help us lighten our load if even for one night a week is an amazing blessing to us alone.  They are an awesome hosting duo and really know how to welcome you into their home with loving arms.  Jarrad is a CPA himself and the partner at a local accounting firm.  Jen and Jarrad both have been with us through this crazy financial walk right now with me losing my job and our main source of household income and Jarrad mentioned that he needed help at his firm keeping up with tax season audits.  He came up with a plan where I could work from home for him and I would still be able to stay home with Rylea and still be able to help Devin with the financial responsibilities at home.   I’ll be working part-time mainly on an as needed basis (as far as the next few months are concerned, I’m sure there will be no shortage of work) and it will help me keep up to speed with the ever-changing world of accounting and tax law, and I’ll be able to continue doing something I love.   It’s just amazing that God brought the Browns into our lives a year and a half ago knowing that Jarrad would be offering me a job in the future.  I am just beyond thankful for the opportunity the Lord has presented me through Jarrad and the other partners at his firm, and I’m completely in awe of the fact that they’ve had no problem with me bringing Rylea (a CRAZY almost 8 month old) into a professional office setting.  They’ve set me up in my own office in the back of the building where I’ve brought toys and Rylea’s pack and play.  Rylea and I audit back there and I try to keep her from stealing the mouse, banging on the computer, and wiping out entire 3 page spreadsheets that I just completed (yes, that happened today).  I’ve never been in a more challenging environment trying to keep my accounting hats and mommy hats on at the same time, but who can complain?????  I’ve got a work at home job in this failing economy when thousands of people are out looking for jobs everyday.  I am blessed beyond measure and I just love our sweet friends.

So, as of Monday this week I am now a hybrid of a mom.  I’m one of those WAH/SAHM (work at home/stay at home moms for you lay people).  Pretty cool huh?  Now who in the Naples area needs their taxes done? 🙂

Leave a Reply

