What I do on Thurday Nights

A couple of weeks ago Jody called around 6 pm and said, “Hey, I’m going to Big Life class tonight wanna go?  I’m leaving in 10 minutes.” I threw on some shoes and changed my clothes and grabbed my bible and ran out the door super fast after making sure it was ok with Devin since he was going to have Rylea that night.  I had no idea what the class was or how amazing it was going to be, I just thought I would check it out and it was maybe a one time thing.  Well class was awesome and Jody, Ashley and I have all been going together with some other AMAZING women every Thursday night from 6:30-8:30.  (But we usually get home around 9 because we stop at McDonalds for an ice cream on the way home).

So class usually starts with prayer and then a short time of worship.  Kathy Heerema chooses the songs to sing and she presents it to us in a way that has changed the way I look at worship.  She clearly lines out scripture and teaches us what each song means, who wrote it, and what it’s all about before we sing.  Then she plays her guitar (self-taught by the way) and leads us in worship.  Awesome.  Then we go over our memory verses for that week with a partner.  After all of that we go into the book that we’re reading.  Currently we’re finishing up The Master Plan of Envangelism which is an absolute MUST READ if you want to be an effective christian.  Changed my life.  Seriously.  Go get it.  Now.

Each week we have an assignment to read, memorize, and sometimes something else.  This week we’re supposed to be writing our testimonies as practice to witness to unbelievers.  I’m not going to post mine here for personal reasons (and mainly because you’d read it and then run screaming from your computer in the other direction and I don’t want to be responsible for causing anyone a heart attack).  My friend Ashley shared this website with me called I am Second which is just so awesome.  If you’ve never heard of it you should definately check it out.  And if you want to know more about Big Life University or Big Life Ministries then just head over here or ask me!  We’d love to have more women join our class!!!

Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. -Matthew 28:19-20

Leave a Reply

