Names

I don’t think it’s any secret that Devin and I like really unique and unusual names.  While Rylea isn’t over the top odd or out of the ordinary a lot of the other names we considered were just that.  We settled on Rylea because I had always loved that name ever since I met a little  boy named Riley, but I knew I wanted it for a girl instead.  My middle name is Lea (pronounced Lee, but spelled like flea)  and so we spelled Rylea’s name like mine.  Rylea is also an Irish name and Rylea’s great grandmother is Irish so we liked it for that reason too.  Her middle name, Reneé, is actually Devin’s mom’s middle name and I love the two R names together.

Now we’ve got the second baby on the way and I’ve been thinking a little bit about baby names again.  We will be finding out the sex of this baby, but I’m not sure that we’re going to share the name with everyone until this one is born.  Because we like those “out there” names we found a lot of people had pretty strong opinions about the names we were considering and I think we just might save it until the end, and keep it to ourselves.  But, in the mean time I thought I would share a list of names that we’re currently considering.  This is a really rough list and most of the names are Irish, but I thought I would share anyway.  Enjoy!  And if you have any crazy names you think we should consider then please leave me a comment!  (If you hate the names, then you can keep your thoughts to yourself thank you very much) 🙂

BOY:
Cypress/Cyprus
Ronan
Ryder
Killian
Reizo
Daegan
Rogan
Kowen
Rowen
Harper
 
GIRL:
Emorie
Lainey
Loewen
Zulah
Delia
Teagan
Lola (Rylea was almost named this until people started giving us their opinions, but it’s back on the table)
Zia
Adara
Brielle
Bria
3 thoughts on “Names

  1. I had a friend in school whose name was Harper. She was a girl… So that could be on either side. I really like it for a girl. I really like a lot of your girl names. One that is kind of like Lola is, Layla. I know there was a song named that, but I still think that is a cute one too. I had a student in my class one year named Schuyler, pronounced Skyler. That was kind of different

    • Harper is one of my top names for a girl but I think Devin needs a little more convincing 🙂 Just noticed that I put it on the wrong list though. Oops. I also knew a Schyler. I don’t love it, but it is a unique one. I heard Leela the other day and I was thinking that one could be on the list too.

  2. I’m with Michele- I was going to mention Layla, too. Love it!
    On the boy side, I really like Ronan, Rogan and Rowen. Not sure what it is about the R and N combo but I apparently am obsessed with it as far as your list is concerned! 🙂 I also like Lainey and Delia for girls, too. Now, I think this name goes either way, but we do have a nephew named Teagen, and we hear lots of compliments on that name too. Happy Name Choosing, and for what it is worth, I vote you keep the name a surprise until baby makes his/her grand entrance to the world. I’m like you – I can’t stand hearing all the negative opinions with names. Believe me, even with Andrew and Bradley (of course, less with Brad because we waited until he was born to reveal his name), we heard some pretty rude comments. I’m all for holding out for the surprise!

Leave a Reply

