Baby Updates and More

Well we’re now technically 28 weeks along if you go by the original due date of November 11.  But, if you remember, our last ultrasound was putting us around November 5th (one week earlier) and then at my next appointment I was measuring another week early and that’s putting us somewhere at the end of October now.  So really, God is the only one that knows when this baby is going to show his little (or big) face around here but we’re bracing ourselves for an early arrival!

So, in the mean time I’m trying to get all my sewing for the baby done in between hanging out with Rylea and working for Devin’s golf course as the “from home controller.”  I’ve decided not to buy anything for this baby that I can’t make myself because it’s much cheaper to use my sewing machine, so here’s my ever-growing list:

  • Crib bedding (including the bumper, sheets etc.)
  • Receiving blankets
  • Burpies
  • Bibs
  • Recover Rylea’s infant carseat/swing/stroller to make them man-friendly (unless someone awesome buys us new stuff which we’re not planning on happening) I’ve started on the car seat and I’m excited to see how it turns out
  • Boppy pillow cover

One thing I have FINISHED is his quilt.  Which also happens to be the first quilt I’ve ever sewn and I have to tell you, I’m hooked.  I actually finished it before we ever left Naples, but I just took some pictures of it today to post.

Zig Zag Quilt

Front and Back

Close up of quilting and binding

Quick synopsis of the quilt.  I used solids in green, orange, and blue and also patterns in the same colors for the alternating zig zags.  It’s hard to see in these pictures, but I’m happy with the patterned mixed with the solids and the look it ends up with.  I quilted 1/4 inch from each edge of the colored zig zags leaving that same pattern on the back of the quilt.  I made the binding myself using a red solid and pattern fabric and hand stitched the whole darn thing onto the quilt.   I love that method and think I’m going to use it every time now.  I used a couple tutorials from across the blog world like this one and this one and this one to help guide me in the right direction.

I am aware that baby #2 has a handmade quilt before baby #1, but Rylea’s going to get one too as that is also already in the works.  🙂  Can’t wait to start on that one!

2 thoughts on “Baby Updates and More

    • Thanks Michele! I love it and have been found taking a nap under it on the couch a few times. It’s great and hopefully something the little one will appreciate and keep for a long time and maybe pass on to his babies 🙂

Leave a Reply

