Dieter Bryce DeWitt

November 7-8, 2010.  Those are days I’ll never forget! 🙂

You guys might already know that Devin and I decided to use a midwife for this pregnancy, and that means giving birth with no option of any pain meds whatsoever.  For me, that meant giving birth the way that the Lord intended for me to give birth.  For Devin, that meant that he was stressed out over seeing his wife in the worst pain of her life.  I’m not going to lie and say it was a pain-free experience like I’ve heard some women say it was for them.  It was, by far, the most painful and challenging thing I’ve ever done.  I’ve had a broken/dislocated jaw, I’ve been run over by a riding lawn mower (thank you Mel), I’ve had two of my teeth knocked out in a fist fight (again, Mel), and I’ve even been attacked in the face by a 100+ pound dog.  None of those experiences even come close to natural childbirth.  Devin described the experience to his mom like this, “Well, her head spun around like the Exorcist a few times.”  And he said to someone else, “I really thought she was going to walk out of there and go to the hospital and get an epidural.”

All that being said, I’d do it over any day, any time in a second.  It was amazing to say the least.  I’m very thankful that I was able to go through labor and delivery this way, and I know it was the way the Lord wanted us to have our little boy.  I really feel like God was glorified in the whole process, and I loved every horrifically painful moment.  People have asked me if I’m proud of myself or what I accomplished, and I want to make it clear that without my memorized scripture or a husband praying over me through the worst contractions, there’s no way I could have done what I did.  John 15:5 says “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

I’ll spare you the details here for obvious reasons, and I won’t be posting our labor video that’s for sure, but there are some major difference between Rylea’s delivery and Dieter’s delivery that I’d thought I’d share.

  • For one, we were back home sitting down eating dinner just 6 hours after he was born.  He was born at 2:54 pm and I was sitting on the couch by 9:00 after hitting the drive through.  When we had Rylea we were in the hospital for 48 hours.  Being home recovering was a lot more comfortable, and peaceful for us than being in the hospital for that long.  We didn’t have to leave Rylea for very long, and we were able to just hang out in the comfort of our own (well Jody’s) home.
  • Recovery was a lot quicker this time around.  It might have something to do with being my second baby, but I was up and walking to the bathroom on my own (when I had the epidural Devin had to carry me to the bathroom because I still couldn’t use my legs) 20 minutes after delivery.  I was able to get up and do everything on my own and without the after effects of pitocin and the epidural.
  • Dieter was mine after delivery.  They put him right on my chest and let me have him for a good 3-4 hours before taking him to be weighed and examined.  He was MINE.  I just held him and talked to him and we checked each other out for a long time.  There were no doctors to give him a bath and drag him this way and that and take measurements and whatnot.  Those were my favorite moments sitting there next to Devin in a room all alone just taking in what just happened.
  • 90% of the time I was in labor, it was just Devin and I in the room.  I was free to move around, or not as I needed to, and we didn’t have a million different people coming in and out of the room doing a million different things we didn’t understand.  In fact, when it was time to push Devin had to go out and get our midwife.  It was so great having all that privacy and to be able to bond with my husband over the birth of our son.

So, here are the stats:

Dieter Bryce DeWitt

Labor started: 11/7/10 11:30 pm

Born: November 8, 2010 2:54pm

Weight at birth: 6 pounds 12 ounces

Weight 11/10/10: 6 pounds 8 ounces

Weight 11/12/10: 6 pounds 12 ounces

Weight 11/18/10: 7 pounds 4 ounces

Height: 21 3/4 inches

One thought on “Dieter Bryce DeWitt

  1. I’m nearly in tears reading this. I’m so happy you had a great delivery. I’m happy you were able to compare/contrast hospital and midwife…and I LOVE that you had this experience.

Leave a Reply

