June

June has been a very challenging month around here to say the least.

Teething has been awful for Dieter and has caused all sorts of symptoms like fever, throwing up, no sleep, no eating, stomach problems, you name it he’s got it.  I even took him to the doctor once because I thought surely something else must be going on here but they couldn’t find anything else wrong with him.  He’s just been super sensitive to his teeth and he’s miserable.  He’s got 2 now on the bottom and he’s working on 2 more.

I started potty training Rylea which was a complete failure up until recently and we often started our days with her screaming, “I NEED A DIAPER MOMMY!!!!!!!”  No amount of Minnie or Dora big girl panties was going to convince this girl that she could be a big girl.  I was determined though to not regress so we pushed through it.  If she can tell me when she’s doing a #2 and tell me she needs a new diaper then it’s time to go on the potty as far as I’m concerned.  Plus, 2 babies in diapers is exhausting mentally and financially and I’m over it.

Dieter also discovered this new trick called crawling.  He’s not the typical crawler though, he’s an army crawler.  Using one of his feet to get some leverage, he pulls the rest of his body using his arms and just kinda drags himself everywhere.  Surprisingly he’s really quick and getting into everything he can get his hands on.  I also think being direct pressure on his belly constantly has added to the throwing up and it’s often heard around here, “Mommy, Dieter pook again,” and sure enough I round the corner to see him sliding around in it all over the floor.  Yuck.

All of this is normal kid stuff, but I don’t think it would be as taxing and exhausting if we had friends or family around to lend a hand when things get tough or when I need to go to the doctor or the store or something.  I have not had one single break from the kids since we moved here 1 year ago.  There’s just no one around to offer that break to us, and I refuse to offer my children up to any strangers.  It is so the desire of my heart that the Lord would orchestrate a job for Devin closer to family!

On top of all the stuff with the kiddos, some terrible stuff has happened at the golf course and Devin’s job security is now questionable to say the least and we’re just kinda living day by day not knowing what’s going to happen next.  Through all of this though, I hold tight to the promise of Jeremiah 29:11 for our family and know that He is in control and He is the One that we will answer to in the end.  I’m so thankful I’m not at the wheel of my life because I’m sure I’ve drive it into a ditch constantly!!!

Here’s hoping for a better July!

Leave a Reply

