Sun Ripened Iced Tea

We’ve been doing a lot of very summery things around here in Louisiana.  The heat is insane as it has been 100+ since June.  We’re just spending a lot of time in the pool and indoors in an effort to avoid sunburns and heat stroke!

Devin mentioned the other day that his mom used to make sweet tea by putting it out in the sun in the Indiana summer.  So I decided I’d try and recreate that sweet tea for him because surely all this heat can be good for something.  🙂

So, here it is, my own recipe for Sun Ripened Iced Tea.

You need:

  • A 1 gallon container with a lid (I got mine at Walmart for around $5, it’s plastic.)
  • 10-12 tea bags
  • Water (You can use bottled if you’re fancy, but I just get it from the tap.  Good ole bayou water.  Yum.)
  • Direct sunlight 
Fill up your container with water and add all the tea bags.  I use 12.  I used 6 the first time and Devin said it was horrible.  10 was getting closer to his liking and 12 put us in the money zone.  So, trial and error worked for us, so just start somewhere and go from there.  
Then, I put the tea directly in the sun to brew for about 4-6 hours.  Make sure you put the lid on it.  I actually ended up forgetting about it and left it outside overnight once and it was fine the next day.  Thank goodness the lid was on, there’s no telling what kind of bugs might have been going for a swim otherwise.  So, just leave it out there until it gets as dark as you want it.  In the picture at the top, my tea was only out there for about 20 minutes.  It gets darker and darker. 
Once it’s done, I bring it in.  Throw away all the tea bags and put the whole thing in the fridge.   I don’t like sugar in my tea, just a splash of lemon for me, but Devin likes A LOT of sugar like a true southerner so I just put the whole thing in the fridge to cool, and we fix our glasses how we like it.  Works better for guests that way too.
Have fun making some awesome summer iced tea!
Leave a Reply

